Back to The Darkroom

Canoes on Caddo Lake - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Canoes on Caddo Lake – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

I’m finding my way back to the darkroom. Slowly, but surely.  Going back to my roots. It’s been a slow process these past few weeks, but I’m starting to get the hang of it again. It’s like riding a bike.

I don’t know what will become of this homecoming of mine. So far, the prints that have surfaced have been nothing to get excited about! Seems like right now it’s more about the journey. Shouldn’t it always be? A journey back into that dark, magical place.  A place rich with the smells of developer. A place rich with photographic possibilities.

In a world of instant gratification, it’s nice to know some things are still worth the wait.

 

3 Responses to “Back to The Darkroom”

  1. yes, I really understand that, darkroom is simply magic! hope you share your works soon!
    bye

  2. Definitely agree with you that some things are worth the wait. I started going back to the darkroom myself and love getting my hands dirty again. It just makes me feel more connected to my prints.

  3. being back in the darkroom has definitely required a bit of patience. the other day i wanted to give up. i just wasn’t happy with my prints. then, today, everything clicked. i felt good and even found myself humming as my prints swam in the developer. oh, such is the life in the darkroom!….i’ll try to post some prints soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

