Darkroom Sports

skateboarding_fall-12712

I find that being a photographer and working in the darkroom is much like being an athlete . Sometimes you’re on, sometimes you’re off.

There are times when I’ve been in the darkroom and nothing is working. I set up my negative, thinking ( hoping) I’ve got something good, go through the test strips, and then watch an uninspiring image float before my eyes, again and again.

Or sometimes, you know it’s a good image, but all your efforts of dodging, burning, and various filter setups, amount to, well….not much. Just a dark, bland unworthy print.

 

Cadillac Ranch - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Cadillac Ranch – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

 

Hours and hours (and perhaps days) can be spent trying to make an image come to life. It is times like this when I might question why I do this. I feel like I’ve been beaten to the ground. I feel like a batter whose struck out all day, a skateboarder whose fallen on every trick.

Then there are days when things just “happen”. Everything comes together and all is well with the world again. You’re rocking the test strips, getting the print right on the mark and coming up with something you’re excited about.  You’ve hit a home run!

Neimans Mannequins - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Neimans Mannequins – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

 

Boats on White Rock - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Boats on White Rock – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

Historical cemetery in Texas - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Historical cemetery in Texas – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

Last Friday I felt like I had one of those days. They don’t happen very often. I’m not really that good at sports!  🙂

GrindMedia LLC BaseBall America

GrindMedia LLC BaseBall America

3 Responses to “Darkroom Sports”

  1. You’ve inspired me to head back into the darkroom — and the magic there. Thanks.

  2. make that…explore the magic there. oops.

  3. so good to hear it inspired you elizabeth! it’s certainly kicking my butt, but i love it!!

Leave a Reply

