Capture The Music

The Cribs at SXSW 2005 - Early film shot - Sonja Quintero

The Cribs at SXSW 2005 – Early film shot – Sonja Quintero

I am just a few days away from heading down to Austin for the annual South by Southwest (SXSW) music conference & festival. It is undeniably THE music event of the year. I have been going for almost 10 years now. While I’m not in the music industry, I am a music lover who just so happens to be handy with a camera and enjoys photographing concerts.

Concert photography was one of my early loves, after I picked up my first SLR. I remember shooting a band called, Spoon, in a dark club, with color film, under super red-gelled lights. Insane. I didn’t know anything about filters then or push processing. Needless to say, didn’t get many good images from that show. But, I had a great time! There is an energy at concerts that fuels my creative spirit, that makes me feel like both me and my camera are invincible.

I have shot a lot of performances since then. Usually of bands I like, because I find that much more enjoyable!. Occasionally, I’ve shot in large venues, but most of the work was done in small, local clubs. Doing photos of unknown or up and coming bands, is much easier than trying to get a press pass to shot famous musicians. Plus, I think the unknowns appreciate the exposure it brings them. Although I have to admit, shooting in larger venues is way the hell easier as far as the lighting is concerned, it’s the time constraints that I don’t like.

Photographing concerts is certainly not easy. But if you love music as much as I do, it’s a lot of fun to try!

Asteroid Galaxy Tour - SXSW 2010 - Sonja Quintero

Asteroid Galaxy Tour – SXSW 2010 – Sonja Quintero

Ra Ra Riot - 2009 - Sonja Quintero

Ra Ra Riot – 2009 – Sonja Quintero

5 Responses to “Capture The Music”

  1. The first shot there (bw) looks fantastic.

  2. zorkiphoto Says:

    I love the Cribs shot – what film/camera is this on? The grain is lovely.

  3. Now i’m genuinely motivated along with your composing ability and even together with the page layout for your blog site. Is this fact a compensated subject or maybe have you colorize it for you yourself? Regardless remain the quality publishing, it’s unusual to check out an excellent weblog like this one these days.

Leave a Reply

