Spring Rush

Minimalist Floral - Sonja Quintero

Minimalist Floral – Sonja Quintero

Despite the freezing temperatures today, I am begrudgingly gearing up for spring. I’ve been thinking about cleaning out the garage, reorganizing closets and taking photos of….dare I say it, flowers! Yikes!!

Each year the Dallas Arboretum hosts “Spring Blooms”, the event that brings out every soccer mom, every grandma, every bride and every camera totting enthusiast in the Dallas Fort Worth area and beyond to see the amazing technicolor blooms. I admittedly, will be one of them. Although, my goal is to shoot the floral displays in a fresh new way. I haven’t figured out exactly what that will be. I plan to let nature guide me. Among all the colors and flowing gardens, I hope to find some simplicity. I love to isolate shapes, turn them into something they’re not. Don’t know that it is very easy to do with flowers, but I’m going to try.

Here is a collection of images that I think represent flowers differently. All photographers are fellow Etsy artists. Click on photo for link to more info.

Pink and Grey Flower Photo - Soak Studio

Pink and Grey Flower Photo – Soak Studio

Myosotis and Buttercups - Beatrice Lechtanski

Myosotis and Buttercups – Beatrice Lechtanski

Sunflower Summer Photograph - Shannonpix

Sunflower Summer Photograph – Shannonpix

Floral Photography - APC Photocreations

Floral Photography – APC Photocreations

Would love to see what unique floral images you’re most proud of!

One Response to “Spring Rush”

  1. Amazing pictures!

Leave a Reply

