Abstract Urban Architecture

Meyerson Detail - Sonja Quintero

Meyerson Detail – Sonja Quintero

Design and Architecture are my background. I studied Interior Design and worked in the industry for over 15 years. When people ask me what I do, the first thing that pops into my head is: “I’m a designer.” I have to hesitate and then say, “I’m a Photographer.”

But design is in my heart and it is how I came to photography in the first place. As soon as I picked up my first SLR I found myself taking photos of buildings and architectural details. It’s those details, those shapes and silhouetted corners that always drew me in. I am especially enamored of photographers who take those structures, those elements of city life and turn them into something else. The focus on pattern and shape, not function, is what transforms them into artful compositions that thrill and excite.

Take a look at the work of one such photographer, Matthias Heiderich, as featured on the Photohab site:
http://photohab.com/architecture/matthias-heiderich.html

So, next time you walk down the street, stop and take a look. Look at the shadows of the buildings, the shapes they take on, the way they interplay with street signs and sidewalks. I would also love to see some of your favorite minimalist architecture images. Post them for all to see!

Sonja

Leave a Reply

