Abandonment and Decay

ImageI’ve always been fascinated by old, decayed, abandoned places. Their lost stories intrigue me. What lives were lived there? What histories do they tell? Why were these places abandoned? What secrets do they know? What ghosts linger there?

Their unknown past can only be a mystery to me and I suppose that’s what draws me in. I can create my own story about the place. I can imagine what it used to be. There is a sadness too, one I can relate to. No one wants to feel abandoned. No one wants to feel unwanted. I suppose, I’m hoping by photographing this places, I am giving them life back, I am giving them purpose. I find a beauty in their boarded up serenity.

Abandonment in East Texas - Sonja Quintero

Abandonment in East Texas – Sonja Quintero

Honeygrove Pool Hall - Sonja Quintero

Honeygrove Pool Hall – Sonja Quintero

East Texas Hat - Sonja Quintero

East Texas Hat – Sonja Quintero

No Buying Selling or Trading - Sonja Quintero

No Buying Selling or Trading – Sonja Quintero

One Response to “Abandonment and Decay”

  1. great blog loved the photos if you want check out my blog I have some photos of old buildings from Montana’s pioneering days

Leave a Reply

