Vintage Signage Where Are You?

Alamo Hotel - West Dallas - Sonja Quintero

Alamo Hotel – West Dallas – Sonja Quintero

I’ll admit, I have a thing for old, vintage signs. Signs for gas stations, diners, and motels, etc. I love the typically vibrant colors that have been washed out with time. I love the retro fonts and futuristic shapes.

My hometown of Dallas has not always seemed to share my fascination. I understand cities change constantly, but wish my city was more concerned with preserving some of it’s history, rather than just making big bucks. There are creative ways to let the past shine through and still be modern, you know.

The photo above was taken in West Dallas of the now demolished Alamo Hotel Courts. I am so glad I captured the sign in all it’s glory before it was removed. The new developer says the sign will be preserved, but I have my doubts. So sad.

These symbols of Americana will always have a special place in my heart. My mom always said that she thought I was born two decades too late!

This was taken in a suburb of Dallas. I have no doubt it will be gone some day too.

Garland Texas Retro Shopping - Sonja Quintero

Garland Texas Retro Shopping – Sonja Quintero

I love this sign in Fort Worth. Now, they know how to maintain the past and move forward into their future with style.

Fort Worth Shoe Store - Sonja Quintero

Fort Worth Shoe Store – Sonja Quintero

I hope this sign sticks around. This club has seen a revival of late!

It'll Do in Dallas - Sonja Quintero

It’ll Do in Dallas – Sonja Quintero

2 Responses to “Vintage Signage Where Are You?”

  1. You should check out my 24 hours in Montana spot on my blog there is a vintage motel sign you would like 😀

  2. This paragraph will help the internet viewers for building up new website or even a blog from
    start to end.

Leave a Reply

