Grafitti My World

Graffiti Slum - Sonja Quintero

Graffiti Slum – Sonja Quintero

There is an alleyway behind an old shopping center near my home. Driving by this East Dallas relic one morning, I saw part of a side wall covered in graffiti. The vibrant colors drew me towards it with my camera in tow. As I stepped back to capture as much of the wall as I could, I got a glimpse into the alley around the back corner. My eyes opened wide….the length of the brick walls were ablaze with the street art galore!

This place has since been an attraction to me. I try to check it out every few weeks or so. It is ever changing and provides me with some great graphic images. It’s become a goal of mine to capture the artists at work someday. I imagine they’d want to be pretty secretive about it, though. I’m sure they work in the wee hours, undercover.

Regardless of how one feels about graffiti, you’d have to admit, there’s some cool work out there. The owners of this particular old shopping center, either choose to ignore it, find it rather interesting, or simply just don’t care. I like to think they like the fact that it adds some bizarre pizzazz to an otherwise drab shopping center.

Here’s some images I’ve taken over the months since I “discovered” the area.

Egyptian graffiti - Sonja Quintero, Photographer

Egyptian graffiti – Sonja Quintero, Photographer

Grafitti Cat - Sonja Quintero, photographer

Grafitti Cat – Sonja Quintero, photographer

Grafitti Film - Sonja Quintero, photographer

Grafitti Film – Sonja Quintero, photographer

Slum Grafitti Tag - Sonja Quintero, photographer

Slum Grafitti Tag – Sonja Quintero, photographer

Grafitti. What do you think? Vandalism or Art?

One Response to “Grafitti My World”

Leave a Reply

