Time to Play!

Diana Camera TTV Photo - Hey Harriet Photography

Diana Camera TTV Photo – Hey Harriet Photography

I just ordered a Diana camera from B&H and I can’t wait until it arrives! Now, I’d love to say I ordered it because I had this long held burning desire to try it out. No, I ordered it because my Holga is now leaving scratches on all my film in very unflattering/uncool lines. It was time for a new toy camera to play with. My Holga served me well (helped me create some awesome images) and I had every intention of getting another, but the more I looked into the Diana, the more intrigued I became.

Diana Camera Stock Photo

Diana Camera Stock Photo

I bought the standard Diana F+, no flash, no frilly design, no accessories, just the basic for me. I love dreamy, ethereal lo-fi images. I’m crazy about vignettes and grainy, contrasty scenes. I especially like the pinhole function on this camera – something I haven’t experimented much with at all. Looking forward to that! If anyone has some tips on this, I’d LOVE to hear them!

I’m curious to see what differences, if any, there are between the Holga & Diana. Does anyone prefer one over the other? Are they not essentially the same thing? I don’t really have much experience with toy cameras, other than the Holga, so I can’t really say, I’ll just have to wait and find out for myself.

For those of you who haven’t put down a few tens for a toy gem like this, do it! And do it now! There is nothing more liberating than the unpredictable.

Here are a few Diana images that I simply love:

High Delivery - Lee Kuri - Carnival Amigo

High Delivery – Lee Kuri – Carnival Amigo

Vintage Doll Diana Photo - Frankenkitty Etsy Shop

Vintage Doll Diana Photo – Frankenkitty Etsy Shop

Grandpa's Chairs #3 - Chris Crawford Photographer

Grandpa’s Chairs #3 – Chris Crawford Photographer

Lomo Loco Shop

Lomo Loco Shop

5 Responses to “Time to Play!”

  1. That’s great! Many thanks for including my Diana photo. Have fun with your new Diana camera! I have both a Holga and Diana and I’ve not found that much difference between the two. Both wonderful little toy cameras!

  2. You’re definitely welcome, Tracy! I’ve always loved that shot of yours! 🙂

  3. I LOVE all images toy camera! I can’t wait to see what you create with your Diana! 🙂

  4. I’ve taken a few shots already…waiting for more film to arrive. Looking forward to developing the images, will definitely share when I do! Thanks!

  5. Hi, Diana fan here. You may find some pics shot by me with it on my wordpress. Much more to come.

Leave a Reply

