Sandwich It!

Double Cross - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Double Cross – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

Mmm, I love sandwiches! In this context what I mean is, sandwich printing! (Although, I could never turn down a good ham & cheese, either!) I love the idea of taking two seemingly unrelated negative images and turning them into an alternate reality. My first taste of this was done in the image above. It turned out to be one of my favorite images I’ve ever created. I don’t now why, really. I just love the mood and the texture the two images made.

The trick in sandwich printing is to get your darks and lights lined up.  The darks will obviously overpower the light, so in order to keep the light areas that you want to include in the combined image, make sure they overlap. Otherwise, just experiment with dark-v-lights and see what happens and how the composition can be transformed.

Any subject matter is prime material for sandwiching. You can do two images that have no relation, like this one below:

Untitled - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Sandwich Print

Untitled – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Sandwich Print

Or create a sandwich, that might have some reality to it, like this:

Corpus Virgin - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Sandwich Print

Corpus Virgin – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Sandwich Print

 

I’m more a fan of texture and shape, so content doesn’t always matter to me. In this image I love how the palm trees (can you see them?) make the building look as if they are engulfed in flames. One image is from Corpus Christi, the other from Chicago, with no preconceived notion that they would some day marry!

 

Chicago Burning - Sonja Quintero - Sandwich Digital Scanned Print

Chicago Burning – Sonja Quintero – Sandwich Digital Scanned Print

 

Happy Sandwiching!!

Leave a Reply

