Diana’s on a Roll

Double Graffiti - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Double Graffiti – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

 

Ok, so I can’t say that my first roll of film through my new Diana was all that successful. Less than half of anything came out.  I felt my stomach drop when I pulled the developed film out of the canister and saw nothing…absolutely nothing!

However, as I began to unroll the film I started to see something at the inner circle. There were a few images after all! Thanks be to the Photo Gods!

The folks over at Lomography weren’t joking in their instruction manual for the Diana. Interior shooting with this cutie pie requires a LONG exposure. Longer than I was willing to give, apparently. I quickly realized and remembered that the first six exposures I took were done inside. Inside of what I thought was a brightly lit studio. Think again. So much for winging it! Also, please make sure you place the film spool in evenly or you’ll end up like I did with your images too high (or low) on the roll. Geez, you’d think I’d never done this before.

Luckily, the last few images I took (quite haphazardly) were outside of my favorite graffiti spot. And I was pleasantly surprised with the results. The image above is a double exposure taken on a partly sunny morning. I am really happy with what came of it. So happy, in fact, I might even print it on fiber!

Now, if I could just take the time to use the “bulb” setting.  🙂

 

2 Responses to “Diana’s on a Roll”

  1. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser
    compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Other then that, wonderful blog!

  2. Thanks Jenna for letting me know! And for the compliment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

