Photographers in Literature

Eight Girls Taking Pictures by Whitney Otto

Eight Girls Taking Pictures by Whitney Otto

I have just started reading a book called ‘Eight Girls Taking Pictures’ by Whitney Otto. I knew nothing about this book previously, just saw it sitting on a Half Price Books shelf and the antique camera on the cover grabbed my attention. This is one of only two fiction books I’ve ever read where the characters are photographers and only the first where photography is the main subject, so to speak.

The book touches on the lives of eight female photographers, naturally starting at the beginning of the 20th century. Each story focuses on their love for photography and their struggle with the “duties” of a woman and how to balance their passion for art. I’m only about a 1/4 into the stories, but I absolutely love them so far. I think these tales can speak to anyone who has a love for art and finds themselves torn between time for creativity and the rigors of everyday life. But this one especially touches me both as a photographer and a woman.

So, what other fiction photography books would you recommend? I’ll admit I have not heard of many. Educate me on what’s out there! This one has been a pleasant surprise so far!

Sonja

 

2 Responses to “Photographers in Literature”

  1. Not sure if i am sold on the book yet, but i am sold by the rolleiflex 2.8 on the cover 😀

Leave a Reply

