Black & white or some color?

Il Colosseo Diptych - Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Il Colosseo Diptych – Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Most of my photos the past few years have been in color. Ever since my time in a darkroom has been more and more rare, I find myself not even thinking much about my past and future images in monochrome. I don’t know why, really.

Maybe because people tend to prefer my color work and it sells more often. Maybe it’s the subject matters I’ve chosen lately. Or maybe it’s just because there is nothing like a true black and white print created by my hands among the heady smells of developer and fixative. I still shoot on b&w Kodak film when I can. But nowadays I’m more likely to get the film processed in a pro lab and then scan the film on my Epson Scanner. It’s really not the same thing as the thrill of the darkroom.

And the decisions to turn a color digital file into black and white, aren’t usually as exciting either…

But I could go on and on about that, so I won’t. Basically, as I worked on this image of the Colosseum, I wondered if keeping the color was doing anything for it, or detracting from the subject. I do love the way the clear, blue sky adds a punch of color against the ancient arches.

Il Colosseo in Color -  Sonja Quintero

Il Colosseo in Color – Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

For my black and white rendition, I simply de-saturated and upped some highlights for a slight infrared approach. In this version the colossal building has taken on a glow that only adds to the mystic. Also, the lovely contrast really puts the emphasis on the building itself.

Il Colosseo Black & White - Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Il Colosseo Black & White – Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

So, back to my question….Black or white?….or color? What do my readers think? I’d love to know!

Sonja Quintero

Squint Photography

Leave a Reply

