Planning time for Creativity – Camera Still Lifes

Still life Cameras - Sonja Quintero

Still life Cameras – Sonja Quintero

Hello all!

I have committed to spending my Fridays taking photos. There is so much to do as a sole entrepreneur, that it’s easy to spend hours upon hours and day after day on the building of  your business. Marketing, promoting, networking, while all are necessary for a successful business, do not always feed the creative needs of an artist. So, to help keep myself out of the endless loop of tweeting, paper pushing and phone calls, I am scheduling and committing time to just be creative and actually pick up my camera. Besides, keeping content fresh is not only a way to flex one’s creative muscle, but also a way to keep my audience interested in my photography.
I put no real restraints on what I actually shoot or do on Photo Fridays. A few weeks ago, I took photos at a nearby lake, the week after I went downtown to capture some haute couture-wearing mannnequins and this past weekend, I stayed in and shot something near and dear to my heart  –  my vintage cameras. Most of them do not work, but that doesn’t matter to me. I love them from a design point of view. To me, they are simply beautiful to look at and they make me smile.
Brownie Camera Still Life - Sonja Quintero

Brownie Camera Still Life – Sonja Quintero

Vintage Brownie Camera - Sonja Quintero

Vintage Brownie Camera – Sonja Quintero

Diana Film Camera - Sonja Quintero

Diana Film Camera – Sonja Quintero

My whole point in this is, make some time to be creative. Plan it just like you make an appointment. Do whatever makes your artistic heart smile and do it with no intention whatsoever other than to create.
If you enjoy my work, please check out my new site and sign up for the latest updates and a chance to win a FREE 8″ x 10″ print! Sign up here
Happy Creating!
Sonja
4 Responses to “Planning time for Creativity – Camera Still Lifes”

  1. A Kodak Duaflex IV was my first camera…

  2. […] as I talked about in this post a few weeks ago, I am trying to “schedule” my creative time every week. I found it is […]

Leave a Reply

