Sequencing Photos

Cadillac Ranch - Sonja Quintero - Silver Gelatin Print

Cadillac Ranch – Sonja Quintero – Silver Gelatin Print

A few posts back I talked about doing photo exercises to stir up my creative spirit. You can find it here.

My guide is Sean Kernan’s, ‘Looking Into Light’ – a great book for photographers or anyone interested in flexing their creative muscle. So, the other day I’m continuing my creative exercises and really find myself getting into this next one about the power of sequencing. It’s essentially about finding relationships and connections among your images, the ones that are not so obvious. Sometimes there are connections between our work, that we don’t even realize. A lot of times, we can create them, if we just step back from obvious relations and let the feeling of the photos take precedence.

I pulled out various black and white darkroom prints, trying to let my selection happen randomly. The only “obvious” connection at first, being that they were all black and white film prints.

This is my first grouping. This one might be a bit expected. I suppose I was easing my way into the exercise, but it still pleased me:

The Power of Sequencing - Group 1 - Sonja Quintero

The Power of Sequencing – Group 1 – Sonja Quintero

My 2nd group. Here things start to get interesting I think:

The Power of Sequencing - Group 2 - Sonja Quintero

The Power of Sequencing – Group 2 – Sonja Quintero

Photos can take on a life of their own, stories can start to unfold. Depending on how the sequencing begins to form, the story can change, evolve and take the viewers in lots of different directions. It’s interesting to see how the photos can change how they are perceived just by being grouped differently.

And my final and 3rd group. In this one, I’m really reaching.

The Power of Sequencing - Group 3 - Sonja Quintero

The Power of Sequencing – Group 3 – Sonja Quintero

As Mr. Kernan says, “sequence by intuition, rather than logic”. Let it grow organically. You can find stories and themes among your work, that were not apparent or intentional.

This is a great exercise to do when you’re gathering work for a show or perhaps for a book. or whenever you’d just like to look at your work differently.  I hope you will give it a try. And I’d love for you to share the results!

To get check more of my work, including some black and white imagery, go to my site or my Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

