New York state of Mind

New York photography

NYC Sky – Sonja Quintero

Ok, for todays post, I’m flying by the seat of my pants! I kind of almost forgot about it, so I didn’t really schedule it. Oops! Next week, I’ll get back on track. I promise. I’ll blame it on having my head in the clouds, New York clouds, that is.

Just got back from a trip to NYC last week and I already miss it so. There is nowhere else I’ve been that makes me feel so alive. There is an unmistakable energy there that, strangely enough, puts me both at ease and stimulates me like no other place. To put it simply, I feel like I am at home, where I belong. The sights of soaring buildings, the sounds of rushing cars, and even the heat rising from the subway lines are all welcoming to the senses of someone like me, who adores the city life.

Of course the main purpose of my trip was to shoot photographs, but in doing so, I tried to allow myself the space and time for creativity and tried not to rush around snapping shot after shot. I wanted to make sure I not only took photos of New York, but that I also saw New York.

We only had three short days there, so I focused mostly on places I hadn’t been, such as The Rock, Manhattan Bridge, and Coney Island. Here are just a few images I’ve captured. I’m still weeding through a lot of the work and plan on releasing it soon here. In the meantime, please enjoy my little photographic trip through NYC…

Canal Subway - Sonja Quintero

Canal Subway – Sonja Quintero

A Chinatown Welcome - Sonja Quintero

A Chinatown Welcome – Sonja Quintero

Manhattan B - Sonja Quintero/Squint Photography

Manhattan B – Sonja Quintero/Squint Photography

NYC Color - Sonja Quintero

NYC Color – Sonja Quintero

One World - Sonja Quintero - Squint Photography

One World – Sonja Quintero – Squint Photography

Leave a Reply

