State Fair of Texas

Big Tex Lives - Squint Photography/Sonja Quintero

Big Tex Lives – Squint Photography/Sonja Quintero

Ok, here I am again, writing another post “off the cuff”. I need to get it together! October is always a crazy month for me and this year is no different. Getting ready for Halloween, doing photo promotions and developing new work from my recent travels – are all consuming my time and mind.

Somewhere in between all the holiday preparations and photo editing I am going to make my way to the State Fair of Texas, come hell or high water!

Going to the fair is a tradition for me and my family. I still get the same giddy excitement that I did as a kid. Walking up to the gates, my heart races in anticipation of the dizzying rides, neon lights and my first bite into the bready sweet goodness of a Fletchers corny dog dripping with tangy mustard.

Of course, now that I’m older more time is spent strolling through the exhibits and checking out the crafts, than running amuck in the Midway. But, I make it a requirement, that I at least have to enjoy 2 or 3 rides before the night is over. I’m really a kid at heart, after all!

Each year I also try to plan an additional visit just to shoot. No indulging in fried foods, or impossible carnival games, just taking in the scenery, capturing streaks of light and vibrant colors. This is serious business!

So, in honor of our State Fair being in town, I thought I would share some fair inspired photos and art made by my fellow artists. Hope you enjoy!

Also, if you’re into this sort of thing, take a look at some more of my carnival images at Etsy and Fine Art America.

Jaclyn Burdick - State Fair

Jaclyn Burdick – State Fair

Susan Photo Art - State Fair Midway

Susan Photo Art – State Fair Midway

Drew Davis - Sunset at The Fair

Drew Davis – Sunset at The Fair

Tricia McKellar - Carnival No 2270

Tricia McKellar – Carnival No 2270

Jennifer Lee - Midway

Jennifer Lee – Midway

Modern Impressionist - Texas State Fair

Modern Impressionist – Texas State Fair

3 Responses to “State Fair of Texas”

  1. I love your photos! Thanks for including my painting of the Texas State Fair!

  2. Fun post and great photos. Thank you for including my collage.

  3. Glad you liked it, ladies! You both have beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

