Photographic Memoir

Fleeting Words

Fleeting Words – Photo by Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

I’ve always been intrigued by the idea of creating a photographic memoir. Creating my life in photos. Now, I know this is nothing new or revolutionary, but it would be a challenge for me.

 

You see, I think my photos have always looked outward, rarely do i turn the camera or the subject on myself and really look inward.

Several years ago I came across some creative challenges to attempt and the one that resonated with me was the idea of writing your memoir in 7 words. Strangely enough, the words came to me quickly, but I wanted to take it further than that. I asked myself, “now that I have the words, how do I visualize them?” Can I express all that in 1 photograph? The concept really fascinated me and still does, to this day, five years later.

I never did the photo, but quite often it comes to my mind. I see visions and scenes of how it could come together. I wonder if I’m making it too complicated. I wonder if I’m thinking too literal. I’m wondering if I’m ever gonna get off my bum and just do it. It’s like a nightmare that keeps haunting me and the only thing that will silence it, will be when I face it head-on to bring it to fruition.

To satiate the phantom ideas when they rear their heads, occasionally I’ll look back at some of my more personal work to try and pick them apart for some autobiographical nuggets. Sometimes, looking over the work spurs new ideas and a lot of the time it placates me and gives me some justification for not completing this photo mission. I look at the work and realize, maybe I’ve been working on my memoir photo(s) all along, I just didn’t know it.

Here are some examples of my work that do tend to feel like a more intimate narrative. What exactly they’re saying, I’m not always sure. Could any of these be my memoir in photos?…maybe….

A Shroud

A Shroud – Photo by Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Lightening Wings

Lightening Wings – Photo by Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Melancholy

Melancholy – Photo by Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Spring Grief

Spring Grief – Photo by Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Vacant Seat

Vacant Seat – Photo by Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Window

Window – Photo by Sonja Quintero / Squint Photography

Do you have project ideas like this? The ones that just swim around in your head, nagging to be freed and given life? Maybe the work is already in front you or maybe work you’ve done can give you just the spark you need to get that project going.

Take a look and see….

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sonja

To see more of my work online check out my site: www.squint-photography.com

2 Responses to “Photographic Memoir”

  1. Hi there! I like your style, Maybe I can use some of your stuff to put it together with my writings, if you agree…;)

  2. Hello Francisco! Hmmm, could be interesting…have something in mind?

Leave a Reply

