B&W or Color City?

nyc-silhouettes-1

Hello all. So, black & white city life? Or color? What do you think?

This is actually an image that I sort of forgot about from my New York trip well over a year ago. I just came across it last week and thought: Oh, yeah, I liked this one.  I haven’t seen it in a while. How did I forget about this one?

Kind of like when you are cleaning out your closet and come across a gorgeous blouse you used to love to wear, but hasn’t seen daylight in years. Sometimes with the never-ending cycle of shooting, creating content and post processing and sharing, some images get left in the dust. Some, because I’m not sure if they are quite “worthy”, others simply because another “shiny bright object” took my attention away from what was a piece with potential. I definitely think this one has potential and I’m glad I discovered it again!

So, I know I want to go forward and develop this image further, my big question now is…black & white or color?…

nyc-silhouettes-3

In black and white, the monotones really highlight the silhouetted shapes and add a bit of mystery with the intensity and the contrasts.

nyc-silhouettes-2

In the color version, the subtle shades add life, vibrancy and gives it a heartbeat that softens the hard edges.

So, what do you think? Color and vibrancy or stark, elusive contrast? Let me know what you think!

Til next time!

Sonja/Squint Photography

Leave a Reply

