Crazy About Color

I am all about color. I’ve never shied away from it. In fact, I gravitate towards it. There is an energy and fullness of life that is fueled in me by vibrant hues. Colors penetrate many areas of my life, not only in my photography. I love brightly hued blouses, colorful pillows and saturated paintings. For me, colors are the spice of life.

So, you can understand my frustration when back in 2010, when I started to post my photos online, I noticed, as with many forms of art and design, a lot of the popular work was represented in vintage tones and washed out pastels. Now, why I do find a lot of this work charming, it doesn’t create an excitement in me. It doesn’t make my heart go pitter-patter. It feels safe. And for me, photography, should do more than just be “pretty”. It should put a smile on my face and then make me think. It should make my spirit soar and it should make a statement: Look at me, I’ve got something to say!

I’ve often struggled with finding a place for my work, finding the best fit, going against the grain. My photographs instantly seemed to stand out and defy what was popular. I’ve tried my hand at a softer touch, for more subtlety. I’ve done this both successfully, and many times not so successfully. Ultimately, I keep coming back to what draws me in – pure, saturated color.

Nowadays in my work, I’ve decided to go unapologetically into my embrace of bright pigments. It’s become my thing, I guess. In recent years, I’ve begun to see a shift in photography, away from much of the vintage filters and a movement towards intense uses of color. And that excites me very much!

So, today I’d like to share with you some awesome images that celebrate the use of color. These are some of my fave photographers lately, who go bold with their tones. They unabashedly fill their images with bright lights and vibrant subjects.

Az Jackson is an award winning photographer who creates vibrant cityscapes and landscapes that excite the senses. ‘Color of Manhattan’ is one of my favorites. A very cool perspective and the colors practically leap out at you.

Colorful, minimalist photography is Tom Windeknecht’s signature style. His photos make my heart happy. Minimalism and color together?…who could ask for more! He is also a wonderful Instagram content creator.

Bryan Keyes imagery typically brings together amazing color and nostalgic subject matter – both things close to my heart. I also love his tight composition and details.

Jessica Kenyon has quite a unique way of turning floral photos into abstracts by capturing them under water. The flowers become colors swatches and swirls of colors, blurring the reality underneath.

The Wonder Wheel at Coney Island has been photographed countless times. Photographer Susan Candelarios’ rendition is definitely one of my faves. I adore the crisp, sharp colors and yummy blurriness of the whirling ride.

Click on the links to see more of these photographers fabulous work. To see more on what I’m about check out my site here.

Sonja / Squint Photography

Leave a comment